1. Lina

Lina New Member

Master of Creative Writing

Discussion in 'Publishing' started by Lina, Jul 15, 2016.

Hi all,

I have enrolled in the master of Creative Writing at Sydney uni, but I am an international student. I really have no idea about which courses I should select for the first semester. I know that you would tell me that I should ask admissions. In fact, what I am looking for is students' advice, but unfortunately I do not have any friends because I have newly arrived to the uni.

So can anyone help me please in selecting my units of study?

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man Contest Administrator Contributor

What are your options?

3. Lina

Lina New Member

1. Introduction to Old English: Old English was the language of England from the fifth century until the twelfth. This earliest phase of the English literary tradition evolved against a background of cultural encounters: as the Anglo-Saxons encountered the culture of Rome, as they adopted and adapted the Christian religion, and as they reflected on their origins on the European continent. This unit introduces students to the language
    spoken and written by the Anglo-Saxons, and presents the opportunity to translate and read Old English texts.

2. Approaches to Critical Reading: This is a core unit for the Master of English Studies. This unit will introduce students to a variety of critical approaches to literature. In addition to developing critical and theoretical literacy, the unit aims to develop advanced skills in identifying how and why such strategies might be brought to bear on reading literary texts, and to evaluate how effective and/or appropriate such strategies might be in specific cases. The unit also aims to critically examine theories of the text as a physical and conceptual object.