1. dave_c

dave_c Active Member

do your bullet pointed story plots often have too much detail in them?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by dave_c, May 15, 2012.

My Story writing has four main stages

1. The summery - a basic paragraph of what the story is about, though in truth this usually stays in my head
    2. a bullet pointed version - this is just a list of major items that happen in the story
    3. expand it to a first "full draft" - a vastly padded out version of the above which is starting to read like an actual story
    4. and then refine from there - basic buffing shinning and otherwise "making pretty"

I'm at stage 2 and my bullet points are getting more and more detailed I had to stop myself adding dialogue in at one point.

Is this a really bad thing or is it showing that I'm getting really into the story?
    Also do other people work like this? I'm totally self taught so have been making up the method or structure of my writing as I go.

2. Langadune

Langadune Member

I'm from the part of Kansas that doesn't look like
    In the writing/creative process, there are as many methods as there are writers. The simplest advice in your case is "Do what works best for you." Sometimes I do alot of planning (too much on occasion) and sometimes I just jump in feet first and see what happens. It sounds like even though you have a good system (for you) that you're at a point where your story wants to be told. If you find yourself starting to flesh out details and plugging in dialogue, then maybe your muse is ready to be released. I'd recommend just start writing, satisfy the urge. If/when you hit a snag, then revert back to planning if needed. Really, the biggest hurdle for a writer is writing. Deep huh?

3. John Eff

John Eff New Member

Do whatever works: there are no rights or wrongs.