1. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

Meeting the parents

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by deadrats, Jan 25, 2017.

So, I'm kind of seeing someone and meeting their parents for the first time. If that's not enough, the person I'm seeing has told them all about how I'm a writer. While I feel like a complete fraud on the inside, how can I come out looking good without lying assuming the topic comes up? It's been a while since I've met anyone parents. And I think the person I'm dating thinks I'm far more brilliant than I am. Has your writing ever come up in a situation like this? What did you say about it? Also, I'm trying to figure out just how it might come up. The parents are big readers. Don't even own a t.v. I'm pretty nervous about the whole ordeal.

2. 20oz

20oz Active Member

Lie.

Tell them this is you: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/22159.Jessica_Park

Or your preferred author.

EDIT: Tell them you're overly ambitious that the skillset you have is not up to par of what you want to accomplish. Tell them it'll be BIG. Best seller level. Classic level. They'll teach it to literary students for centuries to come level.

EDIT 2: Hand them a short story or novel excerpt. Say, "This is just a taste of what's to come," and then wink.

EDIT 3: Don't worry about it. You're a writer, put your imagination to the side. If it comes up, tell them the truth. As long as you have a job, they won't think you're a louse or less than your worth.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2017
  3. OJB

OJB A Mean Old Man Contributor

I don't support lying.

You can say "_ (Whatever your GF's name is) is too kind. I am working through my first novel as we speak and hope to have it completed sometime this year."

jannert and deadrats like this.
  4. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

'Mommy, I'd like you to meet Deadrats.'

'Hello Mrs Shitzpah...how do you...'

'Deadrats is an inspirational writer, Mommy, a literary sensation. I devour every word he...'

'Do you now...'