1. Megalith

Megalith Contributing Member Contributor

Megalith's Most Promising Venture

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by Megalith, Jan 30, 2015.

Hello WF! I wanted to start this as soon as I saw this section but I was holding back to improve my writing skills to a certain point before I committed myself to completing a novel. I’m going to go for full 100% completion. That is the point where I would be ready to abandon my baby. Although my skills have a way to go, I hope to develop my voice as I write this novel and unrelated short stories.(to give me more opportunity to develop said voice)

The story I am writing is one I have been developing for almost seven years! When I was in high school I suddenly came up with the idea after watching a preposterous episode of this series which was a lot like Ancient Aliens.(just as ridiculous) To entertain the idea I decided to consider what could possibly constitute such a farfetched notion. I pondered the idea of aliens actually producing and guiding humans from the shadows. And as I thought more and more about it, I figured out how they could still be doing the same from the shadows, and figured out why they were doing it. Of course, ‘humans’ being the byproduct of aliens’ is an idea which has been included in many sci-fi books, movies, shows, and games. However it has always seemed to me, to be more of an afterthought, not particular to the main story. It’s more of a plot driving excuse.(To explain humanoids in Star Trek for example) And the ones responsible never seem to be around anymore.

So I planned to include the whole story in a single novel, but as I started getting into the finer details I realized that I had conceived a monster of a story, an epic of sorts. And that I could not do it in one book, or possibly even two.

Name of series: Ex-Human
    Current word count: About 100K