1. JadeX

JadeX Senior Member

Microsoft word - is it evil?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by JadeX, Jul 21, 2015.

So far I've been doing all of my writing on MS Word, because it's what I have and it's what I know how to use, and I don't really see the point in downloading any new programs when what I have works just fine and well for my own personal purposes. However, as a writer, I can't help but feel bad about using it because... well, it's Microsoft Word, what more do I have to say? It's just... basic. I feel like nobody is ever going to treat me seriously as long as I use it. I feel like it's akin to a graphic designer using MS Paint, or a Motocross racer riding a child's tricycle, or a professional marksman using a water gun... you get the picture. Just the fact that I use something so basic and ubiquitous, something that everyone else has, it's embarrassing.

My question is, am I just being paranoid and overly self-conscious, or am I right in fearing that any publisher will laugh heartedly and blacklist me as an 'amateur' before tossing me out into the street without reading a singe word? I personally have no problem with using it as long as nobody else does, but I can't imagine that they wouldn't. If I continue to write using MS Word, am I committing writer's suicide?

(note: please don't just take this as an opportunity to push programs on me. I would like an answer to my questions first. Thanks.)

2. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

Actually, most publishers prefer you send your MS in doc or docx format.
    So... yeah.

3. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor