1. rhduke

rhduke Member Reviewer

Punctuation A little help with these

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by rhduke, Mar 23, 2014.

So I'm awful at punctuation.

The above is first person narration so I added the punctuation based his stream of thought. Right, wrong?

Is there or isn't there supposed to be a comma there?

2. vera2014

vera2014 Member

The wording of the first example confuses me. I think the writing is passive but I'm not an expert in grammar. I'm a bit confused whether he's seeing colors that are unique or if his iris color is unique. I'll go with the first guess--I did have to think a bit but maybe I'm slow, hehe.
    Here's how I'd word it:
    "I'm told that I can see colors that others can't, that I'm unique. I don't feel unique. They say I'm smarter, quicker--inhuman--but never to my face."

(The sentence "smarter, quicker--inhuman" seemed a bit isolated so I attached it to the last part.)

The punctuation in the second one looks fine to me.

Last edited: Mar 23, 2014
    rhduke likes this.
  3. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I'm not sure here, for lack of context, if the colors in reference are the colors the eyes can perceive or the actual pigmentation of the eyes themselves. Regardless, the first sentence is jumbled and a comma splice and also perhaps a triple splice, one with and one without a comma.

My eye color is unique, but I don't feel unique. I feel like everyone else.

The next sentence is confusing because the narrator has just stated his/her feelings of mundanity and then the next sentence speaks of superiority and trans-humanity. It's in the wrong place, though the punctuation seems fine to me. Ease up on using worlds like just and only.

This seems fine to me.