1. Picaroon

Picaroon Banned

How was your novel received by family?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Picaroon, Mar 16, 2014.

I just finished my first mystery novel which I've been writing in secret for over 6 months. Last night I built up the courage to tell my wife I'd written a book, and wanted her to be the first to read it. As a die hard mystery fan herself, I thought she could offer some great insights.

Her reaction was not what I was expecting. She seemed disappointed and said she thought I was working on my business during all those extra hours at the computer.

Suddenly my jubilation from completing my book turned into this ugly guilty thing. She put my manuscript in a drawer saying she'd read it when she was in the mood. That was yesterday and it's still in that drawer.

Anyway, maybe she feels I was dishonest by sneaking around to write a book. But I honestly believe that if told anyone, it would never have been finished. I drew a lot of energy from imagining how exciting it would be to surprise my family with the book.

Is this typical? Maybe keeping your writing a secret is a bad idea? I just feel dirty and foolish. I don't know whether to take back the manuscript back or let it biodegrade where it is.

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

I don't know any women that would like to find out their husband could keep that big a secret from them - lol. Sounds like she's miffed and trying to punish you by ignoring your manuscript for a while. Don't feel foolish or dirty, though. Just sit down and talk with her, and tell her how you feel, ask her what she's feeling.

Family is funny about art, though - you can't always count on them to give you the feedback or support you need. I'm lucky I come from an artistic family... but they've still got their quirks.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Not finished but my son likes it so far.

4. Picaroon

Picaroon Banned