1. dreamersky1212

dreamersky1212 Active Member

Mostly me talking to myself, but you are welcome to read it too.

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by dreamersky1212, Sep 5, 2015.

I have been reading other progress journals and have vacillated on whether or not to do my own for quite some time. The thing is that I am a slow but steady writer. I write about 1,000-1,500 words a day. I usually only write on weekdays, leaving my weekends free to be...well...the non obsessive novel writing me. So, I don't really need this journal for accountability.

Sure, it would be great if I could have one of those 15,000 word days and cut a huge amount of time out of the drudgery that is the physical process of writing (be it handwritten or typed). But I can't seem to do it. It's almost like my brain has a valve that turns on and off my creativity quota for the day. At some point in my writing (the aforementioned 1,000-1,500 words) I can just feel that I am done. If I try to write anymore that day then everything that comes out seems forced and just plain bad.

So, if not for accountability then what? Well, I wanted to start this journal as more of a blog to myself. Others are free to read and respond (advice is also welcome), but I have just felt stuck over the past month about my inability to talk to anyone in my life about my writing. I am your average underpaid and over-educated American woman. I have a day job and a life outside of writing. When I decided to accept the journey that is novel writing I didn't realize how much it would feel like I HAVE to talk about it. I want to tell everyone. I want to talk to my family members and friends about it. I want to tell my coworkers and the people passing me on the street.

Me walking down the street, lost in my own world. I see a stranger walking his dog...
    "Hey dude! I don't know you and I know you probably really don't care, but I am writing a novel!"