1. CadieDanielle.!

CadieDanielle.! New Member

Title and Plot Twists?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by CadieDanielle.!, Jul 1, 2010.

Hi, everybody. I'm new to this, so humor me.
    I've got a basic outline to a story, but I'm wondering what I could add to it to really make it great?

Here's the basic plot: A girl grows up in a family of 11 children, all from a drug-addicted mother. Needless to say, their childhood leaves a lot to be desired, and they end up on the streets until child services steps in. The 11 children are all split up, most at a young age. Basically, the story follows the actions of the sixth child, a girl named Tiereney. She's severley depressed, and pretty much the definition of cruel and soulless. She ends up running into her oldest brother, and the story follows their adventure into bringing their family back together, and rediscovering themselves. I've already managed to squeeze a love story in there, too.

But at this point, I'm wondering if that's enough. Not to mention I need a title.

Advice?

2. theSkaBoss

theSkaBoss New Member

I like it the way it is. It sounds like a sweet story. I mean, these kinds of stories don't need a twist ending and stuff. The plot just needs to unfold, you know? After all, what twist could even be put into such a story? "Turns out they're not even related, but they all consider each other family anyway! Awe!"

As for title, it could be something like Eleven Pieces of a Broken Heart, or Lost and Found... Something like that that evokes an image of that bit of your story is what I'd personally do, but it's all up to your own tastes.

3. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

I think a title is something you can come up with at the end. That's what I always do.

As for your plot, it sounds great, but just make sure your outline is developed enough. The summary gave sounds like it's a great story in itself, but do you have the key things worked out well?