1. Magnatolia

Magnatolia Active Member

Is this good character development?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Magnatolia, Jan 14, 2014.

Hey guys,

I'm very new to writing, so all advice is greatly appreciated.

At the moment I'm practicing the art of writing paragraphs that show the character quite well.

My first attempt was to create a female stripper, and I'd like to know firstly how you picture her.

'Candace stepped into the darkened room and waited until her eyes adjusted to the light. She ran her fingers along the wall. The paintwork had peeled and faded from a lifetime of neglect.'

'Candace returned the embrace, forcing a smile. Her right cheek twitched from being pulled into an unnatural position.'

'Smoke clouds that had once sent her into coughing fits, now felt reassuring in an odd sense.'

Thanks guys!

2. Mats Rafoss

Mats Rafoss New Member

Physically I'm completely unable to picture her at all, because you give no hints or descriptions for me to go by, well very little at least.
    Mentally I'd say she's probably a girl who's seen her fair share of "darkness," she's probably not too young and she's probably adapted
    to this life that she once despised, and probably still do, but now she's used to it. I really don't know, because you don't give me enough
    to know.

I'd say the trick is to sneak the information into the subtexts, such as "Candace stepped into the darkened room, in the darkness she was
    like a ghost, her skin akin to such gloom." - If she's dark-skinned, for instance.

Or.

"Candace stepped into the darkened room, in the darkness she was like a ghost,
    her pale silhouette painting a picture of disparity within the frame of the door." - If she's lighter-skinned.
    - This could work the other way around, too, if the room she arrived from was lit.

Obviously I don't want to infer that you should use these exact lines, they're just examples to show my point :)
    - And probably not great examples at that.