1. Katherine Melmore

Katherine Melmore New Member

My experienced actor friend says to me ...

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Katherine Melmore, Dec 10, 2014.

That inner monologues - thoughts of a character emotions etc are really death to a play
    Is this true? Is it just because I'm a foolish beginner that I have been using this "tool?"

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Not sure what you mean but I rarely see inner monologue transferred to the screenplay when a book becomes a movie. They generally use something else to show you the actor's reactions/thoughts. Less commonly inner thoughts are done as a narration over the scene like Kevin Spacey's character does on "House of Cards".

Simpson17866 likes this.
  3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Are you using it in a play or in a short story or novel? The two are quite different, so what applies to one is not necessarily going to apply to another.

4. Katherine Melmore

Katherine Melmore New Member

Hi
    Thanks for your replies

It's in A. 10 minute monologue

5. Ladybug of North

Ladybug of North Member

I have no experience writing plays, but I have some amateur acting experience.

If it's a 10 minute monologue I don't see that there should be a problem. A monologue is just one person anyways right, so what's the problem? Monologues often express inner thoughts. Is it a play or a screen play?

I would advise you to be careful writing a monologue that is more than 2-3 minutes. You have to keep it exciting.