1. Merlin

Merlin Member

How to drag readers in right from the start... HELP!

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Merlin, Nov 8, 2011.

Hey guys, Merlin here. Here's a kind of premise for my story that I'm working on.

Now, how do I begin my story with an opening that'll drag readers in from the get go? I have several beginnings in mind, some more dramatic than others:

Opening One: A prologue that focuses on a dogfight in space above Earth, involving Scott's spaceship getting shot down by the invaders.
    Potential Problems: I have no experience writing dogfights, and going undetected by the humans below could cause a problem.

Opening Two: Scott rescuing Naomi/Luke from bullies.
    Potential Problems: Has the possibility of being cheesy and therefore uninteresting. If possible, I want to avoid the cheese.

Opening Three: Scott sitting next to Naomi on the bus to college or in a college lesson.
    Potential Problems: Too boring, could be cheesy and doesn't really grab the audience's attention.

Opening Four: Going home from a gig, Naomi finds herself attacked by bounty hunters believing her to be what Scott has transformed into. Scott manages to save Naomi, but has to give her a memory pill to make her forget the experiences with the aliens.
    Potential Problems: Kind of similar to the first episode of Torchwood, potential to be cheesy.

Opening Five: Any other suggestions that you may come up with.

Hope this is enough information for you, and if not - I can always expand if you want.

2. JMTweedie

JMTweedie New Member

I like idea no. 2, if it's well written it's unlikely to be cheesy.

I'm not a fan of prologues, they usually put me off reading the first chapter.
    I like a book to start slowly with a bit of mystery.

You've got a great story idea there.

3. tristan.n

tristan.n Active Member