1. zebra_cake

zebra_cake New Member

Hey there.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by zebra_cake, Mar 29, 2009.

Hi everyone. I'm a college student from New Jersey. I love to write, especially poetry and short stories. I'm in a Creative Writing class right now, and so far I've been dissatisfied with the feedback from my professor and classmates. I Googled "writing forum," and of course this came up! I've always wanted to participate in one of these but never did! I joined the PostSecret community, but I never got real into it. This one suits me. So far I've enjoyed what I've read, and I hope at least somebody enjoys my work.

Hm, what else about me? I'm an Education major. I work at a preschool, and I love it. I tend to like everyone I meet, and I'm happy to "meet" all of you!

2. chandler245

chandler245 Banned

What kind of writing have you done or do? Have you been published yet? Is that your goal?

3. zebra_cake

zebra_cake New Member

Someday. It's just a hobby right now. I'm pretty shy about sharing my work.

4. chandler245

chandler245 Banned

Why be shy? You have no reason too be. I bet it is good.

5. zebra_cake

zebra_cake New Member

Well, thanks, but I'm too much of a perfectionist. I don't even submit anonymously to any contests or literary magazines unless I'm sure I've done my best. And, although all my writing is "fiction," there is nothing fiction about it. Everything I write is real to me. It happened, I felt it, I remembered it, I interpreted it. Sharing my writing is like baring my soul. It's just not easy, but I'm working on it.

6. chandler245

chandler245 Banned

You can't improve if you don't let anyone but professors and classmates look. and think about it with the classmates, their learning too. Don't be shy or disappointed. If you love to write and love to teach combine the two and use it.

7. zebra_cake

zebra_cake New Member

You're right. Thanks. No one's ever really said it like that before.

8. chandler245