1. Stephie Kaye

Stephie Kaye New Member

changing genres

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Stephie Kaye, Jul 30, 2009.

I'm wanting to change my story Autumn Raye into a fantasy novel instead of whatever it was turning into.

The problem, I want to be original. As much as I love vampires and vampire novels... I don't want a story like all the others. I need some originality to it.

Since I am new to this genre (this will be my very first time attempting to write fantasy) I need some help.

Hope to hear from some of you!

=]

2. Gallowglass

Gallowglass Contributor Contributor

Why don't you abandon the typical 'Western' vampire and go with another? Take an idea that everyone has used, and put it into a context that few people know.

3. arron89

arron89 Banned

You're probably lucky that you've new to the genre - you can approach the vampire myth without the baggage of someone well-versed in its history and might end up stumbling onto some novel new way of depicting them.
    Asking other people for help is a sure-fire way of making your novel less original, though. It means all the ideas are at least second-hand.

4. Rumpole40k

Rumpole40k Banned

You need to do what many authors before you have had to do,look at the characters and find a way to make them your own. The vampire legends are many and varied. Modern vampire culture is even more interesting than the undead, walking corpse stuff. Take a real, hard look at both legend and modern culture. Keep what really appeals to you and make the vampires your own.

~R

5. Forkfoot

Forkfoot Caitlin's ex is a lying, abusive rapist. Contributor

What's a genre?

6. HorusEye

HorusEye Contributor Contributor

It's a box to put yourself in :)

7. Forkfoot

Forkfoot Caitlin's ex is a lying, abusive rapist. Contributor

That sounds like it'd suck.

8. architectus

architectus Banned

Invent vampires you think are dope. The chances are others will dig them, too.