1. jennigs

jennigs New Member

SongWriting

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by jennigs, Dec 10, 2013.

I really need to write a song about bullying but don't know where to start

2. T.Trian

T.Trian Overly Pompous Bastard Supporter Contributor

Well, what's your instrument? What's your "platform," i.e. are you writing it to be performed by a singer, a singer accompanying himself with a guitar, a band, a symphony orchestra...?

Whatever the case, here's how I write songs for my band:
    -I come up with different riffs / melodies / chord progressions / drum beats pretty much every day and I usually record them with my phone's recorder to be used later or I jot them down on Guitar Pro (a music program)
    -I have themes / ideas, i.e. subjects for songs that I want to write about (lyrics, I mean), so I write the lyrics (ironic that although I'm a writer, for me, writing the lyrics is the hardest part when it comes to song writing). Sometimes I do this after everything else is ready, I have plenty of "ready" songs that just lack lyrics
    -when I write lyrics, I try my best to convey the feelings, the mood, the message that I want to convey to the listener, find the balance between content and form (e.g. sometimes I sacrifice a rhyme for clarity of meaning and vice versa depending on which is more important in a given part)
    -some riffs / melodies etc. have a certain mood: they can be angry, joyous, melancholy etc. so if the subject matter of the song is, say, bullying (which often induces feelings of anger, frustration, sadness, disappointment), I'd be inclined to use riffs / melodies etc. from my collection that fit those moods