1. bakalove

bakalove New Member

my story keeps collapsing ._.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by bakalove, Apr 30, 2012.

I've been writing a book for about two years now. You would think i'd be at least a hundred or so pages into it but no i'm maybe four or five pages in, i've rewritten the story about fifteen times each in varying lengths. So every time i get about 5-10 pages the amount of detail my minds tries to incorporate into the now ancient story buckles under itself and i hit a weird awkward point. The problem is every time i hit about five pages i find something i want to add to the storyline and because the idea is a crucial part of the story it makes me want to rewrite almost constantly which is annoying because id really like to actually finish the first book (its a trilogy). Just to show how OCD ive been the story has completely reworked itself about four times. It started with vampires and magic went to greek mythology and magic/vampires, greek mythology and magic no vampires, to now were im at a civilization that runs around magic (somehow it has the same story line and idea xD). So what im asking really is there any way to make it so i can actually stick with one idea and not be influenced by outside sources?

2. Edward M. Grant

Edward M. Grant Contributor Contributor

This isn't an uncommon problem with new writers.

I would suggest two things: first sit down and decide what the story is actually about and which setting would best allow you to explore the premise. Second, write an outline so you know where the story is going to go before you spend time writing the story itself, and stick fairly close to the outline when you do write it. Rewriting an outline is much less work than rewriting a novel.