1. Amanda_Geisler

Amanda_Geisler Contributing Member Reviewer

Need a Query Letter Opinion

Discussion in 'Query & Cover Letter Critique' started by Amanda_Geisler, Jun 21, 2014.

Hi All,
    I know I said that I am not intending to search for an agent yet, but I couldn't help myself from making a start on the perfect query letter. Any opinions on this query letter would be great.

Amanda

My name is Amanda, I am a Brisbane based writer of young adult fiction. I am a student at the University of Southern Queensland, enrolled in a Bachelor of Arts (Professional Writing and Publishing). I have completed a certificate in creative writing through Open Colleges Australia. I have also just completed a certificate of editing and publishing through Australian College, I am continuing this qualification with a certificate in advanced editing and publishing.

Please find attached/enclosed a synopsis and the requested number of chapters from my novel, The Stray, which is approximately 80,000 words in length. The target audience is young adult as mentioned above from ages 13 to 25.

My book is about a young werewolf, Rya Garcia. I know that werewolf novels are quite common these days, but I have removed some of the normal clichés from the myths of werewolves, such as the full moon. Rya Garcia is part of the pack in the town named Cascade Falls, the human world is on the verge of finding out about the pack, while Rya struggles with the pack peaking order, and her abusive alpha.

This novel is part of a trilogy that I am still writing, I am approximately 50,000 words into the second novel, The Lost, and then it will then lead into the final novel of the trilogy, The Found. Information about these two novels can be provided on request. I have the goal of finishing both of these novels by the end of this calendar year.