Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Khuz360

Khuz360 New Member

My idea for a plot:

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Khuz360, Sep 17, 2010.

Hello everybody

This is my first attempt at writing and first post on this quite remarkable site.

My idea for a plot goes like this.

It involves a main character who is ex special forces and is 1 of 3 surviving members of a unit that was killed on a mission which was compromised by someone from their own side. He leaves the military and goes off to university to do a degree.

Whilst at uni he makes new friends one of whom is a spy working for people who know more about the main character than the main character knows about himself. The spy knows nothing about the main character and is tasked with simply watching and reporting to their superiors.

Along the way he remains in contact with his captain who is another surviving member of his unit and together they are both working together to find out who killed their unit and why.

I do appreciate this is very cliff notes and lack a considerable amount of detail but I'm not sure what else to include, I would be happy to answer questions to fill in details. I would like some constructive criticism on the plot and its workability.

Apologies for the length of the post

2. SashaMerideth

SashaMerideth New Member

It sounds kinda interesting, but if you don't tell it well, it will be boring and predictable, or just plain bad. It's a good starting point, but make it shine.

3. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

My advice is get to know your characters and their surroundings. I find that then tells my story for me, I learn the story as my characters interact and tell me.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

A story concept means nothing. I can tell you now, it has all been done before. What matters is how you write it, the characterization, the flow, the imagery, all of it.