Tags:
  1. Pennyfights

Pennyfights New Member

Need Editor

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Pennyfights, Dec 10, 2010.

I am a new author that has just acquired an agent who has suggested/required that I have my book professionally edited. They do not have one to recommend. Does anybody know of a good ( inexpensive) line editor? - not a proof reader.

2. darthjim

darthjim New Member

Er... Your agent recommends you use an Editor, but can't recommend one? Really?

Wow.

I'm curious as to why they think you need to fork out for an Editor before they get you signed to a publisher. When you get signed, you publisher will assign you an Editor – and they may well have completely different thoughts on your MSS to the Editor you've just paid for.

I'd be very wary of forking out for an Editor myself.

3. FrankABlissett

FrankABlissett Active Member

What do you mean by "acquired an agent"?

Did you hire someone to be your agent?
    Did you attract an agent who said "it just needs to be polished a bit"?
    Did you solicit an agent who then said "get it edited first, then submit it for us to look at"?

-Frank

4. Sarah's Mom

Sarah's Mom New Member

I'm confused. EXACTLY what did this person say needed doing before she could submit?

5. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

penny...
    those are all good questions above, that need answers, if we're to help you find what you need...

i mentor new writers and occasionally will edit their work for them [i do nothing for money, all i do is totally free, no strings attached]... email me and i'll see if i can be of any help with this... who is the agent?...

love and hugs, maia
    maia3maia@hotmail.com

6. HeinleinFan

HeinleinFan Banned