1. Bluvapor

Bluvapor New Member

need help with a description

Discussion in 'Descriptive Development' started by Bluvapor, May 3, 2011.

HI GUYS, I'VE BEEN LURKING ON THIS FORUM FOR QUITE A WHILE, BUT JUST JOINED THE OTHER DAY. I'M IMPRESSED WITH THE FULL ON SUPPORT GIVEN TO EVERYONE WHO USES THESE FORUMS, AND SO I PRESENT TO YOU MY DILEMMA. I'VE BEEN WRITING MY NOVEL FOR CLOSE TO TWO YEARS AND I'VE REALLY SET A DEADLINE. I'M ON VACATION FOR THREE WEEKS AND I PROMISED MYSELF I'D FINISH AT LEAST THREE CHAPTERS. HOWEVER, I'M IN A BIT OF WRITER'S BLOCK AT THE MOMENT AND NEED HELP.

MY SCENE TAKES PLACE IN SOME SUBURBS IN CALIFORNIA, MY CHARACTERS A LATINO MALE WHO SEEMS TO JOG AROUND THOSE PARTS. THE AREA IS A RITZY NEIGHBORHOOD AND WELL I REALLY NEED TO DESCRIBE IT IN VIVID DETAIL. NOW IT SOUNDS EASY BUT FOR SOME REASON I'M STUCK. I HAVE A HARD TIME DESCRIBING THE HOMES AND THE SIGHTS. I'M NOT ASKING FOR NO ONE TO WRITE IT FOR ME, BUT SOME IDEAS WOULD REALLY BE NICE. MAYBE SOME STATIC DESCRIPTIONS, WOULD PROBABLY HELP ME GET OUT OF MY FUNK. I REALLY APPRECIATE IT IF SOMEONE COULD HELP ME THANKS. :redface:

2. KillianRussell

KillianRussell New Member

A trick I will use to describe the disparity between the haves and the have nots is trash day, they are getting rid of furniture, bric-brac etc. better than the best in the homes of the not so blessed. Thanks dude I so forgot I wanted to use this.

3. Bluvapor

Bluvapor New Member

lol at least you answered. I'm really hoping for descriptions of anything really of homes of streets. I'm really bad with that sort of thing, but I 'll keep practicing maybe something will come out it always does. what bothers me is i have a goal that i think i might not get done if i keep on with this funk of writers block.

4. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributor Contributor

Is the problem that you don't know what it looks like or that you can't find words to describe it? at least the first option should be easy to remediate.

5. Trilby