1. Pooker

Pooker New Member

Need help with beginning a story

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Pooker, Aug 13, 2013.

I am new to taking writing seriously. I am having difficulty starting my stories because I'm looking for the perfect opening sentence. What works best for you when starting a new story?

2. Wreybies

Wreybies The Ops Pops Operations Manager Staff Contest Administrator Supporter Contributor

What works best for me is to just start writing in a free, train-of-though manner. Accept that you may need a "warm up" period before you have an idea of where the story really starts. This isn't everyone's writing process; I can only give you my own perspective. That perfect opening line may come to you a few paragraphs or even pages into the writing.

3. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributing Member Contributor

Beginnings are some of the hardest things to get right in a story. Don't worry about it yet -- just start it and write. Then you can go back and work on the beginning. But if you start out trying to get the perfect beginning, you'll never get past it.

4. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

I find that for an opening sentence, dialogue is best for me. It is instantly relatable, and if quirky enough, can also get the reader's attention. For example:

"Mom, the dog's flying again! Should I get the treats and lure him down?"

Now, this instantly gets my attention, and as a plus it's also lightly humourous. But remember that all stories are different so I don't always use dialogue. Just experiment. Think of an action or event and write it first as a dialogue/conversation and then as description/narrative. Try writing serious stuff and more humourous stories and events. It won't be long before you find your style.