1. sportzchick

sportzchick New Member

Short Story Any tips on writing short stories?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by sportzchick, Feb 7, 2012.

Hi,

Does anyone have any tips, books, articles, etc, to share about construction of a short story?

I've been studying creative writing for years now. Mostly doing short stories. Currently I'm working on a project with my writing group. I have to contribute a 5,000 word romantic short story. This isn't my first romance short story, but the others I've written were extremely difficult for me. I kept going over my word limit by a lot. Then had to spend a couple of weeks almost literally revising my story to make it all fit.

Right now I have my characters, my plot, my ending and so on. I'm just getting started, but I thought I'd better look around and see if anyone had tips for writing short stories. Or if people feel like sharing their preparation process for writing a short story.

Thanks.

2. Kallithrix

Kallithrix Banned

With short stories you don't really have a lot of time for build up, so jump right to the middle of the action, or at least very close to it. Your characterisation has to hit the ground running, so be prepared to start with a scene that depicts one or both of your characters in an extreme or at least unusual situation that tests and demonstrates their particular personality traits. If it's romance, establish who the love interest is asap. Establish what the problem is, what's standing between them. You don't have time for subplots or false starts, and only one complication, if you're going for that. Character - problem - complication - resolution.

3. UrbanBanshee

UrbanBanshee Member