1. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

Drugs

Discussion in 'Research' started by OurJud, Aug 2, 2016.

When I started my novel it was set in a near-future. I did this for a couple of reasons - a storyline involving a GPS tracker that's implanted in one of the characters, and because I wanted recreational drugs to play a big part in the story. However, because I have very little experience with genuine drugs, I wanted to invent a range of my own, working on the principal that if a drug doesn't exist, no one can question its use and effects.

Anyway, the future aspect never really worked out. It's so slight and subtle that even I keep forgetting this element as I get further into the story. For that reason I'm considering scrapping the future angle, but if I do that I'm going to need some pointers drug-wise.

For now, I need a drug which triggers trips of the hallucinogen type, and a drug which simply zones the user out, much like heroin. I don't want to use heroin, though, because it's too heavy. My users are not addicts or dependant on their drugs.

One scene features a female hitch-hiker who robs my two leads after a drug-fuelled party at a hotel, by spiking a drink so that they're in no fit shape to stop her. I'd like them to be semi conscious and aware of what she's doing, without being able to do anything about it.

I also need a drug that could be used as an instant pick-me-up - something that would drag them out of a stupor.

Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
  2. Malisky

Malisky Malkatorean Contributor

The sedative part I see most fit for your scene:

Rophy, Ruffles, Roofies, Ruffies, Ruff Up, Rib, Roach 2, R2, R2-Do-U, Roche, Rope, Ropies, Circles, Circes, Forget It, Forget-Me-pill, Mexican Valium.