1. Mordred85

Mordred85 Active Member

New To The Forum

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mordred85, May 26, 2015.

Hello everyone,
    I just joined a few minutes ago and have already read some incredible feedback in some of the threads. I'm just an insecure writer from New York with a little experience in screenwriting. I'll open up a little more so that whoever reads this has an understanding of my experience. A few years ago, I wanted to be a film director, but then realized I preferred something that kept me more behind the scenes. I started writing short scripts until finally, one was produced in late 2013 for me. It was an abstract horror film with no dialogue which had me crossing my fingers and hoping that I'd get some positive reactions from. Unfortunately, the final-cut of the film was screened at festivals and had a poorly edited ending. I never really received much acknowledgement for my effort. I know that when it comes to any art, the average person isn't going to really sit there and wonder about the time it took for you to craft it. Well, after numerous attempts of trying to trust many selfish and unreliable producers to see more of my work done, I've decided to pull the plug. One thing I have always been interested in is self-publishing. Call me crazy, but I do have a passion for fantasy as well so I went out on a shopping spree around Christmas for some classic and modern titles. Some that were highly recommended in blogs and forums for aspiring authors of fantasy or sword & sorcery, etc. Out of the 26 books I purchased, I'm only 20% into the third one. So there you have it. For now, I thrive on old Conan The Barbarian films and the rip-offs from the 80's, as well as some Game Of Thrones to keep the fire burning. I'm an aspiring fantasy author and quite recently, I began writing a short-story about an elven high-priestess who plans on making a deal with gods who eat her kind as an offering to buy some temporary peace in their re