1. Dalven

Dalven New Member

Jul 7, 2013
    New writer here, probably need more help than I think.

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Dalven, Jul 7, 2013.

Hey guys. I'm a new writer (If I can be called that yet) and I'm having a pacing issue. I'm trying to write a short story about human kingdom that has taken over all except one of it's surrounding kingdoms. My main character is a smuggler from the last free kingdom who gets a lead on someone from the capital who sympathizes with her cause. She is supposed to wait for a signal to meet with him, and decides to wait in an abandoned village a ways off from the capital walls. This village however, has become somewhat of a symbol for both cities. It was put to the sword by the capital years ago for secretly helping the rebels get supplies. The soldiers from the capital don't like to talk about it, because they fear that the ghost of the Lady of the village still haunts it and wants revenge for what they did to her, and at the same time, the people of the last free kingdom kind of see her as a saint. My issue is with pacing and backstory. I like where my narrative is now, but I feel that if I don't add the backstory now, when I do, it'll be too late and the reader will think "Where did all THIS come from?". I like how I've kept it personal and small, so my fear is that I'll lose the closeness and the pace when I stop the action and pan out to give a history lesson. Yet the history is pretty important to this story. I stopped where I began to try to tell some of the backstory because I feel like that's where I put the brakes on the whole thing.

So I come to you as a miner who's just picked at this shiny rock, but don't know how to go about digging it out without shattering it. Anything you can give me will be helpful. I know It's not much to go on, but I hope the premise at least entertains. Here goes.