1. Nick Kilcoyne

Nick Kilcoyne New Member

I'm a newb here with some questions.

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Nick Kilcoyne, Nov 6, 2012.

So in order to submit works for review, you have to review other works two times consecutively? This sounds good but how is this stuff tracked? How do I know what I am ok to submit work? Is it self tracked or do I get permission from somebody?

So anything posted on the workshop must stay there indefinitely? Does writingforum.org have ownership or rights to everything posted here or am I still the owner of my work? How do most people deal with this? Is it best to just not post things that I want to use commercially in the future?

Also, why isn't here a general off-topic board?

That's all for now.

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

We have automated code on the site, so that once you've done your two reviews (as well as having 20 posts overall and being a member for 14 days) then you'll find you're able to start a thread in the Writing Workshop. If this doesn't happen, or there are any problems, feel free to PM myself or any of the staff.

We leave works on the site as a resource for learning writers, so they can see how it has been critiqued, how problems have been isolated and resolved. You are still the owner of your work, but in posting you licence us to host it. As long as you're only posting an excerpt of a piece, it shouldn't impact on any first sale rights, but only posting things for which you have no commercial aspirations is also a wise idea. And, for the record, non-members cannot view the Writing Workshop. It's a long way from infallible, but it is an extra line of security.

The place for off-topic discussion is The Lounge. It's not unrestricted (the rules still apply), but if you take a look around you'll get the idea.

I hope that helps.

That's all for now.[/QUOTE]

3. Nick Kilcoyne

Nick Kilcoyne New Member