1. MrsT88

MrsT88 Member

Newbie looking for inspiration!

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by MrsT88, Jun 13, 2013.

Hi all!

I'm new to this whole thing, I am an amateur writer that has never really written anything before other than essays and assignments but I have an idea, a very basic idea and just looking to see if anyone has any inspiration to help me to develop it.

I work part time in a local pub and have done for seven years now. It's completely full of characters, all very different/unique and while I'm behind the bar people often say to me "you could write a book about this place." This got me thinking and its been playing on my mind. Yes you probably could write a book about there but how? There's no storyline as such and its hurting my brain trying to progress on the idea. Any inspiration or advice is much appreciated.

Many thanks,
    Natalie

2. Garball

Garball Banned Contributor

Don't write your story about the bar. Write about the characters that visit the bar. Is Cheers about the bar or the people? What do those people do in your world outside of the bar?

3. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

There are a couple of ways you can approach this. One way is to have all these people put into short stories, and then you could collect them all together into one book. Another way is to look at the person behind the bar, as Garball said. Write the book about the characters they meet, then what their life is like once they lock up shop. Is it depressing? Fulfilling?