1. Sierra4

Sierra4 New Member

Literacy Practices

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Sierra4, Sep 27, 2008.

Hi Everyone!

I am a student at a university in Tennessee and I am an English Writing Major. I have been given the assignment of studying and writing about the literacy practices of a particular community and I might decide to follow through with studying this online writing room. I was originally going to study a middle school English class, however there are too many privacy issues. Before I make a final decision, I will need the support of some of the people on the board or as many who would like to participate.

The main assignment is:

To find out what a particular group of people reads and/or writes and determine how those people are affected by what they read and/or write.

Could you all give me some feedback on that topic? I would like to explore the reading and writing aspect; it will give me more to work with. Even though I am a writer and an avid reader, I am only familiar with what I read and write, so I believe this will be very interesting.

I have thought of some direction for this project and I will probably end up dividing my paper into different types of literature/writing. So, if you write on and/or read about multiple types (sci-fi and history, or whatever combination) please provide some feedback on each type.

I wanted to note that I am just completing this assignment for a writing course and the information I gather would not be used for any type of publication. Names or anything of that nature will not be used, so privacy will not be an issue. Also, if you don't feel comfortable posting here on the message board, feel free to contact me through private messaging.

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

2. destinationless

destinationless New Member