1. Ashecroft

Ashecroft New Member

Training scenes

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Ashecroft, Sep 4, 2011.

Well, I guess I'll start this off by saying Hi, new user to the site.

Now, back to the topic on hand.

I recently began the third draft to the novel I've been working on for the last two years, and I have found myself stuck on a single part very early on, involving training between my lead character and his master.

Now, at the time of his training beginning, he is 12 years old, and has managed to convince his adopted mother into talking his rather... aggressive adopted sister to train him, like she has almost all others of his kind.

However, the main problems I find are these while trying to write the training;

1: The relationship between the lead character and his master is meant to be one built on one person hating the other. Namely, his master hates him because of his species, and is not shy in sharing her avid racism towards him. However, training him and his kind is one of her duties, so she is forced into doing it. Whilst she does eventually overcome it because of his actions later in the story, I just can't seem to get the initial relationship to look exactly as I'd expect it to. It either looks like she befriends him far too easily, or she's just over-the-top violent with him.

2: The training itself. In the... 30 or so times I've rewritten the training scene, I find myself disliking it simply because to me it looks flat and boring, and in many cases rushed when it doesn't need to be. Like... I can't seem to envision in my head just how training between them should look, and how to translate it into words to make it interesting enough to even have in there.

So, I was hoping someone could possibly give advice in what I could do / try.

2. Naiyn

Naiyn New Member