1. Lord Baw

Lord Baw New Member

Noob has questions

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Lord Baw, Sep 23, 2013.

I'm an unpublished amateur who enjoys writing. I've completed a 20,000 word "story" (my first stumbling block; I'm not even sure what to call it, it's not really a novel) and am trying to figure out what to do with it. It's a work of humor and the format is alternating Civil War diary pages from two different authors. Each describes the same events with a different interpretation, so the humor (such as it is) comes from the contrast between the two views.

I give that description in order to show that the format isn't the standard chapter-chapter-chapter-end format, so describing it in a query letter will be one of my difficulties. But my larger concern is that it is too short, is it correct that most publishing houses and agents want fiction that is, a, in traditional novel form, and b, 60 or 70K words (at least)? I browsed the local Barnes and Noble humor section to try to get a feel for similar types of books and saw some that were fairly short with a larger font. But it hardly seems appropriate to put in my query letter that, hey, "this will be great, just spread it out and enlarge the font." Is this already sounding like a loser?

I think its audience will be history/Civil War buffs and those that like off-beat peculiar humor. It would make a good gift book.
    Thanks for thoughts!

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I think the word you want is novella.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

20k is way too short for a print book, though if you go the e- route, size doesn't seem to matter...

4. Lord Baw

Lord Baw New Member

Thanks! Length of work seems to fit the description of novella, but my format (alternating journal entries)? In other words in a query letter it would be accurate to say what I have is a novella (based on how I described it)?

5. Wreybies