1. jenslullaby27

jenslullaby27 New Member

ok, so now what?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by jenslullaby27, Jan 30, 2009.

hi!

well, I have developed a basic storyline (more like general ideas for a story,very vague)...Now I am just stuck on how exactly to develop characters, fully fleshed characters!...i believe in order to get really into developing more, i need my charcters well thought out!

I am new at this, but its something already dear to me and very fun to do!....Of course I've started a couple of works, but never actually finished them, i think it was because my characters were missing something? life,perhaps....i dont know....any suggestions?

2. Rumpole40k

Rumpole40k Banned

The first rule of writing is to write. That being said, the more you write, the better you'll understand your characters. Start writing, even if your characters feel wooden and the dialogue seems stale. Just start. I actually wrote one story 13 times before I truly was able to get inside my characters' heads.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

As general as your question is, why not just start reading threads under this forum (Character Development). That should give you some ideas to try out.

Also, think of books you've read that contain characters that seemed particularly real to you, and who changed significally in the course of te story. Reread those books, and pay attention to how those authors built the character before your eyes.

4. jenslullaby27

jenslullaby27 New Member

wow! 13 times?!!!! and after that your characters actually flourished??!

5. jenslullaby27

jenslullaby27 New Member

thanks, yet again...that was a great point, i will check out some books in which its characters actually felt real!

6. Rumpole40k

Rumpole40k Banned