1. Fiel

Fiel New Member

Omnipotent Narrative - Pros and Cons

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Fiel, Sep 1, 2009.

Omniscient Narrative - Pros and Cons

I'm currently writing a novel. I'm a complete amateur, so I went through lots of advice from authors.
    There were some about not using omniscient narrative, of not head hopping and all, yet I realized my first draft was full of it (especially when the conversation involved many important characters).

I'd like the opinions from fellow writers here.

What's the advantage & disadvantage of using omniscient narration in novel writing?
    Is there any rules/recommendation of how to use it efficiently?

Edit: It's omniscient, not omnipotent, my bad. Thanks for correcting Cogito.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I believe you mean omniscient, not omnipotent.

An omniscient viewpoint is impersonal, and tends to reveal too much to the reader, in my experience.

3. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

I think the better question would be why would you select Omnicient POV as opposed to third person limited or first person.

The POV selected should fit the story and how the author believes it is best told to the reader.

Many writers just starting out use it becase it seems easier to tell the story, hopping from charcater's head to character's head within a scene. Unless used craftily and with care, the use of omnicient can fall quite flat. Of course that can be said of the other POVs as well.

If you hope to use omnicient, find several novels (by different authors) that you have read and enjoyed which are written in that POV. Study how the authors employed the POV to relay the story to the reader, and then apply the various aspects and techniques to your own writing.

Good luck.

Terry

4. Fiel

Fiel New Member

I guess that's the case for me. :eek:

Thanks for the suggestion Terry. My friend suggests Anna Karenina. I'll be sure to do my homework. :D

5. Snap