1. The Spartan

The Spartan New Member

What sells..?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by The Spartan, Mar 27, 2007.

I'm a creative writing teacher in Turkey, and have been debating putting some time and effort in writing a book purely for profit, rather than art.

Whore that I am.

As the title of the thread betrays - I'm looking for a genre: which is the most popular..? I suspect horror, but I'm only guessing.

I'm also debating on style. I have a large and obscure vocabulary, and a love of tortuous grammar, neither of which I presume will endear me to the average punter. So, "The cat sat on the mat." Or, "The feline reclined languidly upon the kilim."..?

Does dumb sell better than complex..?

And finally. How long..? A three-hundred page one-off..? A thousand-page monster like "A suitable boy"..? A never-ending series..?

I'm not looking for an extended sociological debate - just a point in the right direction.

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

The Spartan,

Romance sells. According to a number of publishing statistics, it's the one genre that seems to be on the increase while others tread water or lose overall readership. Mystery and Action seem to be doing okay, but Romance is what you're probably looking for with the stated goal in your post.

As to style etc., I have no clue since I don't read or write romance.

Terry

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

true, romance always sells... and sells well enough to housewives and career gals, but not as mainstream best-sellers... plus, the major romance imprints have incredibly detailed, very strict guidelines that must be followed, or your ms won't even be read... which won't allow you much, if any creative satisfaction...