Tags:
  1. Sarah's Mom

Sarah's Mom Member

On Getting Paid to Write

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Sarah's Mom, Jan 1, 2011.

I think I said in my "hello" post that I had been paid to write most of my life. A couple people have PMed me for details, but I don't PM too much. I was going to do a blog post, but then I thought that it might make a good thread, the stories of how those who have been paid to write got there. Might be of help to those still trying.

I have a big personal investment in online anonymity, so I'm going to couch this in generalized terms. But the process is all that matters, really. I hope some others will come and add their stories.

About me: At this point in my life, on the far side of 60, all my income above retirement money, comes from writing. (It just occurred to me, I've been getting paid to write for over 40 years now. huh) But I was not a professional writer as my main occupation for the most part. I am just a writer. That means I have to write. It's compulsive.

1st sale: I was quite surprised one day when I was about 22 to receive a large envelope with a copy of a magazine and a check do for $25 (pretty good in the early 1970s!) and a letter inviting me to submit again. I was surprised because I had never submitted at all. The church secretary took one of my poems, sent it to a national Christian publication and voila! My first sale. I was mad about the invasion of my space and happy to have the $. It was very cool to see my name in print the first time.