1. Michael Thompson

Michael Thompson Member

Including a Glossary in Sci-Fi

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Michael Thompson, Dec 11, 2015.

A couple of the beta readers that actually read my 2nd draft suggested I add a glossary for reference about names, ships, planets, technology...

I have never written a book before and I (sad to say) am not a big book reader... Is this a common thing or does it take away from the book?

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Just my personal 2p...

If your book actually needs* a glossary, then you've used far too many terms that are unknown, meaningless, or confusing to your reader. Your reader should not have to leave the story to understand the story.

*Ask your Beta readers if this is just a suggestion on their part, something to add, or if they felt a need for a reference to keep track of all the words that were throwing them off.

3. NigeTheHat

NigeTheHat Contributor Contributor

I see it quite a lot - just make sure it's an extra. Having to constantly look up terms to see what they mean is distracting as fuck. It should be obvious from the text.

ETA: Ninja'd. What @Wreybies said.

Steerpike likes this.
  4. Michael Thompson

Michael Thompson Member

A couple who read it understood things very well. The one person that's constantly mentioning this glossary idea, I think just wants to know more about the history of things from the story maybe...

For example, the mane of the place my characters come from, Elatha... This was the name of a Celtic moon god.

5. Commandante Lemming

Commandante Lemming Contributor Contributor