1. passenger

passenger Member

point me in the right direction.

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by passenger, Sep 28, 2014.

I've read the New members guide, but I was wondering if someone could help point me in the right direction. i'm new to writing, very new. i just started increasing my vocab and the best way i know how to remember new words is to put them into a sentence. so i signed up here thinking this would be the ideal place. however, looking through the threads i believe my questions would be far to trivial and maybe even annoying to some e.g. " there will be many who attempt to disparage his message with extreme effrontery." - would i use with or in? and is this sentence even using disparage and effrontery correctly?
    These are the types of threads i would be posting, but not sure if this site is the place. Please let me know, and thanks again.

- passenger

p.s. The question above is my first real question. :write:

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

Word choice always depends on the surrounding content and characters. For me you could go with discredit & rudeness but again it all depends on characters and content. Does it stand out from the rest of the text? Also 'with' sound better than 'in' because it's explaining how they're disparaging the message.

3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Is your primary goal the improvement of your writing? Building your vocabulary is not, IMO, all that important to improving your writing. So while there's nothing inherently wrong with asking questions about word usage, it's not what I would suggest as your main focus.

Also, since this is a writing forum, people tend to get cranky if you don't do things like capitalizing your sentences, capitalizing "I", and so on.