1. draupnir

draupnir New Member

Lord of the Flies problem

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by draupnir, Aug 4, 2008.

This has bugged me since I studied the book in school - where are the females in Lord of the Flies? For me leaving them out is a major flaw that undermines the message.

All we get is Piggy's auntie isn't it? (or do I forget some...) And that's a fairly small mention.

You may say that adding girls in would confuse the issues, and well it might. But how can LOTF hope to be a successful study of the corruption of mankind or of the human condition or what is innate in us etc, if it excludes a whole gender? I mean any study of loss of innocence is redundant with just one gender.

Isn't it?
    (Btw I know there are no adults either, but I think that's understandable and needs to be so)

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

It was a boys' school trip. But it's also a very allegorical piece of writing, and Golding undoubtedly felt that the descent into savagery would be best be exposed through male aggression.

You call it a study, but I see it more as a statement that Golding was wrapping in a neat package of fiction. There was never an intention to expose the counter-arguments, because it wasn't his job to do so.

3. Ungood

Ungood New Member

It was a "Boys School" as Cogito said. Co-ed would have been out of place in the story.

Anything else beyond that is speculation on the readers part.

4. draupnir

draupnir New Member

Thanks for commenting!

I may have just been a boy's school, but I think we could have stretched our suspension of disbelief to allowing a mixed gender school...

And that's what I meant, about how it's allegorical. I think its "hidden moral meaning" is compromised by its lack of a parallel with the real world. A big part of human morality is the relationship between the genders.