Tags:
  1. RobYoung

RobYoung New Member

Opinions on an Idea

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by RobYoung, Jan 17, 2007.

I have been reseaching a topic for about 3+ years. I haven't done so much research just to write a book, but just because I found it interesting.

The topic is Avian (Bird) flu. I have had the oppritunity to not only talk with some very prominate people about this, but I have watched the developments for literally years.

So, I thought I could make a great story with Bird Flu as the plot engine so to speak. The problem is that everytime I started to try to do an outline or layout, it would always begin to turn into just another disaster tale. The old tried and true "things fall apart, the center does not hold" motif.

I hit on the idea of telling the story through a series of journal entries that a high school freshman is having to do for his english class. He continues to keep this running journal even after classes cease to meet as a way to vent and cope with unfolding events.

I was just wondering what you guys thought of this approach. I mean could this be used to carry a long story?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Rob

2. Bluemouth

Bluemouth Contributor Contributor

This is certainly a good idea, considering the interest it would cause in the public should it one day reach the market.

My suggestion is to write a novel similar to the style Michael Crichton uses. He uses science smartly in his novels and most of them come across as solid reads.

3. RobYoung

RobYoung New Member

I do love Crichton's work. The problem to be quite honest is that I am still a very weak writer. I want very much to have the story told from a very human POV. I just can't resist the temptation to try and make it to broad and big. This reduces the impact of the characters.

4. Gannon

Gannon Contributor Contributor