1. chaoserver

chaoserver New Member

Writing hurts my eyes(on computer) anything like kindle for typing?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by chaoserver, Dec 9, 2011.

So I've been on a roll writing, trying to bag ten pages a day and then editing it each following morning and continuing. Thats all fine and good but unfortunately my computer screen proves to be brutal on my eyes. What do other people do to manage? I prefer typing to pen and pencil because it's going to need to be typed sooner or later, and my pages end up very hard to read from all the edits I make.

2. bruce

bruce Active Member

I set my display colors to white text against black background.

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

This is a good idea. I've been a professional computer programmer for a lot of my life, and this is how I set my colors. White on black is much easier on the eyes than black on white, at least when you're using a backlit display.

4. JPGriffin

JPGriffin New Member

Is there any sort of study out on this? Because, if that's so, then I have a lot of default settings that I can swap out. I've been sticking with Black on White, but I'll do some experimenting in the meantime and let you know.

5. Prophetsnake

Prophetsnake New Member

I've had problems as well and I have not eliminated them, but I have done a few things to ameliorate them. One, I try to blink as much as possible, but of course i still don't do it enough, so I do moisten the eyes every now and again ( well once a day if I'm honest.) I have a pair of reading glasses i use in place of my varifocals just for reading the computer as well.

I'm going to try this white on black, though. It's worth a shot anyhow.

6. chaoserver

chaoserver New Member

any idea how to go to this setting on win7?

7. Ixloriana

Ixloriana New Member

What version of Windows 7?