1. jlauren

jlauren New Member

Overcoming discouragement

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by jlauren, Jun 10, 2009.

What do you do when you know you have a really great story to tell, but over time become increasingly unsure about your ability to write it?

Sometimes I put something down and can't feel satisfied with it. I know it's in me, and I know I'm a good writer but I struggle with my own insecurities. So as a result, I generally stop writing! I'm afraid I will never finish anything because of discouragement.

Help! :(

2. Unsavory

Unsavory Active Member

From what I've seen of your writing, it's pretty good, so I wouldn't feel discouraged. I don't know how new this is for you or anything like that, but based on what I saw in the review room, every issue you have appears to be easily correctable with a bit of dedication.

Join a local work shop, focus on writing something different when you're not feeling your main project, and obviously easier said than done, keep a positive attitude and don't be so hard on yourself. We all face these same situations. I flat out quit screenwriting because I felt insecure about it, and it honestly was a mistake. Hopefully, the writing I'm doing now will be a better fit for me in the long run. I have a slightly thicker skin now, and that alone makes a huge difference in my personal progression.

Also remember that we ALL take a beating when we put our work out publicly. But it's not you that is being criticised, it's your work. We're here to help each other out, and 95% of what I've seen here has been in the spirit of helping rather than harming.

3. Vapor

Vapor New Member