1. Titan

Titan New Member

Writing articles

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by Titan, Mar 30, 2016.

Hi all, this is my first post.

I am not sure if I have come to the write place (sorry if not).

I am an engineer currently working in academia. I would like to increase my writing output. One side of my work is the academic journals, conferences and book chapters that I write. These are technical pieces of work.

There is one of many other sides to me which involves wanted to bring my subject matter to the masses, inspire others and share knowledge.

I would like to write articles about different topics based around engineering. I am seeking advice from the community on this. Should I consider self publishing? Although there are lots of thoughts and information posted online about self publishing books, I haven't seen any on self-publishing articles.

I have my own website, however I am not sure if this would be the best place to add my articles, as not sure how much exposure it would receive there? Also would this be classed as a published article, it seems there are some differences of opinion on this.

Finally, would it be OK to share an article I write so I can obtain some feedback from other writers. I this sort of thing normal?

As a side things I have also started writing a non fiction book.... lots to do! :)

Thanks everyone!

2. KhalieLa

KhalieLa It's not a lie, it's fiction. Contributor

I do something similar, except I'm in economics. I occasionally write "public friendly" pieces for magazines.
    If your work is interesting, then the website might be okay. Heck, your students might enjoy it. (Or not, generally not. LOL)
    I'd suggest finding a magazine that might be a good fit. If nothing else, it would be a good place to start cutting teeth.

Good Luck!

Last edited: Mar 31, 2016
    Titan likes this.
  3. Titan

Titan New Member