1. Mikry

Mikry New Member

Paralysed by Free Will

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Mikry, Aug 22, 2014.

Hey guys! Nice forum you have here!

Anywho, I've resolved to write more in my personal time; I recently finished school and as I am studying a field not at all related to English literature at university, creative writing is something that I now have to do on my own time.

My problem however is that I don't know what to write about. At school I would always be given some sort of general guidance of what I should write about, and now that I don't have said metaphorical spark plug any more, I'm finding it very difficult to really even begin writing. I suppose a good analogy would be that my creative mind is a photo of the entire universe, but the resolution is too low to discern anything. At least I hope that's what problem is.

I know I can write well, I know I am not devoid of ideas and creativity, and yet I spend hours staring at a blank page, and what little I do write feels incredibly uninspired (often borderline cringe-worthy). Of course, all of these failed staring contests with my laptop screen have chipped away at both my confidence at writing and my will to try. Clearly I am in a very dangerous spiral.

Do any of you guys have some advice for me? I'd be very grateful. I doubt it's relevant but at the moment I'm trying to write brief scripts for comedic sketches. It's a form of creative writing I never really got much of an opportunity to employ at school, and one that I have always love the idea of being good at.

2. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

If you need some sort of general guidance, then make it yourself. For starters, ask yourself this question: which genre do you like to read the most? Generally the genre you like to read is the genre in which you like to write. That's a limitation of sorts right there.