1. JustTonight

JustTonight New Member

Novel Past lives and "dream world"

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by JustTonight, May 1, 2011.

First of all, hi… This is my first time here and I just want to say that it seems like a great forum already and I haven't even started digging into the awesome threads here.

And I'm just going to apologize right from the beginning if I have some problems with my English. It's not my native language so excuse me if I make some mistakes…

So I'm writing a novel about former lives and now I (finally) reached the point where my main character dreams about her former life for the first time. But I have a few problems with how to write it.

So my first problem is whether I should say that it's a dream first or just start the chapter in the "dream world". I think it would be best to just start with the dream but I'm afraid people won't get it's a dream because it's the first time and there wasn't really preparation for it… what do you think?

Now my other problem is the main one I'm writing you about. The people she sees in the dream were her family back then, and she somehow knows it, but they aren't who they are today. For example, her father in the present was the uncle who raised her in her past life. But how do I tell that in a way that my readers would understand but still leave her in the "dream world"?

I can't just say "I knew he was my uncle somehow but he was really my father." I've been trying to write that part for a week and I just don't know what to do about it… So I would really appreciate it if anyone had an idea for me…

Thanks so much, and sorry for my long message…
    JustTonight

2. Velox

Velox Member

Welcome to the forums! I hope you have fun here and get the advice you need!