1. aikoaiko

aikoaiko Senior Member

Personal Preferences and Reviewing

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by aikoaiko, Mar 19, 2014.

This question might be irrelevant, but I am new to creative writing and wanted to know if anyone else had encountered it. Have any of you run into beta readers (or reviewers) who pan a story based on its content rather than the quality of the writing?

I have parts of an MS that I have given several people to read. It is nowhere near ready for publication, but I needed to know if A) the storyline was interesting, and B) the writing was good enough to carry itself (if that makes any sense). Most of the people I showed seemed to like it (or even love it), but there were one or two who didn't, and I'm trying to figure out why.

My MS has an intelligent but very rebellious female character who (admittedly) can be downright nasty. I knew while writing it that I was pushing the boundaries of her 'likeability', but I felt that a difficult nature was necessary in order to justify the events at the end. There is also a male character involved and a (sort of peripheral) developing romance. The problem came when I gave a few chapters to a man to read who thought that I should jump into the romance right away and focus more on the male character (even though the woman was the MC). He also felt that there was too much description in her case, and advocated a stream-of-consciousness approach that eliminated description altogether. He wanted the focus to be the romance--immediately---with a lot of sex---and he wanted the difficult female character to be minimized as much as possible.