1. Eugene Rocklin

Eugene Rocklin Member

Philosophy of Criticism

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Eugene Rocklin, May 20, 2014.

• Before the questions about the wording of the subject more specifically "philosophy," I'd like to state I'm using it more as a general term for "point of view." Since the word "philosophy" seems rather appropriate for the nature of this forum anyways. I've decided to use it instead.

• What is your personal motivations behind critiquing a persons work?
    • How do you approach it (critique)?
    • What do you seek to get out of it?
    • And anything else you'd like to mention as well...
    Please feel free to share, I'm trying to build a dialogue... I'm new to this kind of stuff so I'd love to hear feedback of any kind.

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

• Trying to better my own writing. Trying to help out someone as well. It can be a bit of the blind leading the blind if you take it too much in a pompous ass stance of - here I come to fix your work. So I try to focus on things that stand out for me as a reader.
    • I'm not out to fix anyone's writing - just to make suggestions. I read the work see how well it went and how wrong it went. And I try to highlight the positive and negative.
    • The ability to spot and erase my own story flaws with greater ease. Not getting my back up or being stubborn or trying to protect bits that need to be given the ax. To look at my work with a bit of distance.
    • I wish those being critiqued wouldn't try to direct the critique too much as I feel like if I mention anything outside of their scope, they'll ignore it when it could be a bigger issue.

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

It helps me get better at revising my own work. It also gets me thinking about things like interpretation, clarity, etc.

See my thoughts on this here.

4. Eugene Rocklin

Eugene Rocklin Member