1. lhjfoster

lhjfoster New Member

Novel picturing my books as films during planning, good technique or not?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by lhjfoster, Aug 2, 2013.

Hi guys,

I have never written a book before and had never really thought about it until recently as I have opened it up as another possible career path. I have four ideas for stories but I'm not really sure on how to write them. I am currently planning my first one, and keep picturing it as a film as this way I feel like I can connect with starting off a good story. Is this a good technique or should I really be writing a script for a film instead? Plus has anyone got any template's that I could follow to write a proper book as like I said, I have never thought about writing a book before.

Thanks,

lhjfoster

2. Southpaw2380

Southpaw2380 Member

For your first question, personally I do the same from time to time in an effort to really see what I'm writing. It's not constant for the way I write, however it certainly is a great way to get yourself into the scene. A lot of writers (myself included) will mime different things while writing to really get the description correct and feel the part out. As most people will probably tell you, it all comes down to what feels right for you and your writing process.

As far as templates, I don't have any nor am I really aware of a template that you'd want to use. Writing a book is all about your own process. I would advise against writing in a template format that tells you how long this chapter should be or where this should happen. That said, there are programs that you can purchase in order to help you better organize your work and such.

Hope that helps,

~~SP

3. T.Trian

T.Trian Overly Pompous Bastard Supporter Contributor