1. ScottM84

ScottM84 Member

Do you ever find yourself developing an emotional attachment to your characters?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by ScottM84, Jun 10, 2014.

Maybe it's a common occurrence, but this is my first attempt at any kind of fiction, and I find myself actually starting to care about the characters in my book. For example, my main characters have a younger sister who feels like she's in her older sister's shadow as a figure skater. I'm currently writing a scene in which the older sister finally lands her first triple jump successfully while the younger sister continues to struggle with one of her double jumps. While I was writing part of that scene earlier, I found myself truly feeling sorry for the younger sister. I told some friends that I'm going to have to let her land that jump before the end of the book. I truly hate the idea of her remaining unable to do it.

Have you ever experienced the same sort of thing while writing? If so, does it happen a lot or is it just an occasional thing? Do you feel like it made your story better?

graphicsmyway likes this.
  2. EllBeEss

EllBeEss Senior Member

I'm very attached to a lot of my characters. In itself it isn't a bad thing but with my WIP at one point I found myself getting too attached to the characters and having them all survive and get their happy ending when it really didn't make sense for the world I'd created. If I continued to be soattached to all my characters it would have taken a massive toll on the story so I had to step back and realize that these characters wouldn't necessarily get happy endings.

If you feel sorry for the character you'll be able to convey that to the reader and it will strengthen the story but I would be cautious of making everything easy for the characters you feel sorry for. Would it harm the story for her to master that jump by the end?

3. ScottM84

ScottM84 Member