1. Drstrong

Drstrong Active Member

Stories with Ambiguous or Explained Endings?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Drstrong, Mar 11, 2013.

I'm just starting as a writer, I prefer sci-fi, with a little mix of horror. I wanted to get opinions on whether or not you prefer an ending where not much is explained, or where the details of the events leading up to the point, are explained in great detail.

This really applies to sci-fi stories, IMO. If you have a plot where something destroys half the population, would the story be more effective if the ending was open ended, or if everything came together nicely?

I'm confused by these two forms of storytelling. I have a short story, which has a beginning and a middle, with a climax, but I'm not sure if I should explain the ongoings, or just leave it alone, and have the reader wondering what just happened.

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

A novel needs a satisfactory ending. The reader needs to have a feeling it is complete. Does every detail have to be wrapped up and explained? No, I don't think so. Is it okay just to end, without direction or even implying an outcome to the major conflict? No, I don't think so.

To find out what's 'acceptable,' read some of your favorite novels, especially in the genre mix you're interested in writing. How did those authors handle the ending?

Good luck moving forward.

3. Drstrong

Drstrong Active Member

I think I'm more interested in short story format. I just finished my short story and I left the ending ambiguous, and I feel it is more powerful.

I guess it just depends on the contents of the story.

4. Xatron

Xatron New Member

There was another thread on this exact topic less than a week ago in this section.

If you write the conflict and then leave it hanging without a conclusion of any kind, reviews won't be pretty. Guess who doesn't buy sequels of books with too unresolved endings.

5. idle

idle Active Member