1. RicardoScottini

RicardoScottini New Member

Story about a Footballer

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by RicardoScottini, Dec 1, 2010.

Hi everyone,

I signed up here a few days ago to read some of the stuff other people are doing. Some really great work out there and it's been an interesting read.

I'm quite a creative person but, being a graphic designer, I'm more about visual things than words.

I recently had the idea to write a book after watching 'Goal' the movie. I thought it was a pretty good movie and it was great that someone tried making a serious movie about football but the 2nd and 3rd instalment of the films weren't as good. I want to write a novel similar to Goal but my own take on the 'rags to riches' story.

I was hoping some of you guys would be able to give me advice on storyline, what narrative to use etc, it'd be great if you could!

I'm not under any illusions that this is going to be in all the bookshops or anything like that, I just want to write something for myself that I can maybe get a few copies printed for friends and family. I know a lot of people that are big football fans that don't read but perhaps something like this will get them into reading more.

So, I worked on a plot which spanned his entire career, but I'm not sure whether that's too much to write about, will it end up looking like a Forest Gump style epic?

Here's the plot:

Part 1 (Growing up)
    Lee Madison is the main character. His parents are fairly poor which means he only gets into playing football in his early teens, by that time all his school mates are playing for the local junior team.

He gets a job at the local TV/Electric shop so he can get some money to buy some boots/a ball etc. The shop owner, Jimmy is from Liverpool and tells Lee lots of stories of how he used to play for Liverpool but Lee just thinks he's making them up to be entertaining.