1. k.little90

k.little90 Active Member

Frustrated!

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by k.little90, Jul 9, 2009.

Ever since I was really little I always had this dream of writing a book and getting it published. I've had several ideas, and have finally come across one that I enjoy writing about, but have a problem.... I don't want to spend all this time and put so much heart into this book if no one is going to read it. I like the story but will other people? I often use my little brother as a sounding board, having him read chunks that I have finished and telling me what he likes/dislikes about the story, and he seems to like it. You would think that knowledge alone would put me at ease, but he's a reading junkie, and therefore will read anything that stands still long enough.
    So here is my question:
    How can I find out if my story is good? As a writer I feel I have a biased opinion on my own story and can't really tell if it is a good one or not. What can I do to put my mind at ease?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

The story is fine. Take that as a given. The question i how well you can write it. That will take practice and perseverance.

3. bluebell80

bluebell80 New Member

How much do you read yourself? Reading other stories is a good way to figure out what other people are doing, what kinds of stories get published, and what there might be an audience for.

While I understand your reason for wanting to write, because I too want to be published at some point, writing isn't all about that.

To write with the enthusiasm needed to draw readers to your work, you must write because you love telling stories, not just wanting to see your name in print. Granted there are probably plenty of people who do get published who just want to see their name in print, but does that make their books something people are going to read, or do they end up in the discount bargain bin for 99 cents?